The Idiom (Poem)

There was an Angel in my backyard
She brought her own lawn chair

I was out of beer, so I gave her water
We sat beneath the dimming sun

She held all the light in the world
Enough, to rid the darkness in my soul

Misfit walls of denial came down
The truth soon oozed outside

She said I was the root of myself
Of the misery dragging me down

She said I dove into unhappiness
With open arms and closed eyes

She said I painted my heart black
And never gave it a real chance

The damp air around me lightened
I tasted it fresh, I was refreshed

She laughed at my enlightenment
Because I was slow to catch on

She left, her glass was half full

Copyright © amarmirch | aparoo.com

2 responses to “The Idiom (Poem)

Leave a Reply

